Australian Broker forum is the place for positive industry interaction and welcomes your professional and informed opinion.

Aggregators accused of 'restraint of trade'

Notify me of new replies via email
Australian Broker | 17 Aug 2011, 07:30 AM Agree 0
Aggregators who restrict credit representatives to dealing with only their panel lenders could be guilty of 'retraint of trade', one lender has claimed
  • Hello | 17 Aug 2011, 11:22 AM Agree 0
    Did no one see this coming??? As if aggregators owned by lenders were not going to be pushed to sell their own products prodominately and therefore force this onto their credit reps. Finance brokers should have retained their independence and become ACL holders
  • WJB | 17 Aug 2011, 11:45 AM Agree 0
    I was a sole trader and now hold a credit license. This is an involved process and if you are a man band well expect triple amount of paperwork in running your company If you are concerned about paperwork well expect more than you can chew.. Beware it is involved and lot more hairy than just stating you should get your own ACL> I am the broker for my compnay and I need now to focus on running my buisness and have credit representives be the brokers.
  • petert71 | 17 Aug 2011, 12:18 PM Agree 0
    I'd also encourage all brokers to obtain their own license. It is a pain to obtain the license but it's not as difficult as the aggregators suggest. You can also outsorce the process for a fee less than $3k to make it easy.
    Ongoing compliance is nowhere near as difficult as the aggregators suggest, even for individual operators.
  • PaulGollan | 17 Aug 2011, 01:49 PM Agree 0

I have a great deal of respect for Andrew, however in this instance the argument that aggregators or broker firms should expand their panels to include non-panel mortgage managers who offer exactly the same as what is already available though incumbent panel mortgage managers makes no sense.