Australian Broker forum is the place for positive industry interaction and welcomes your professional and informed opinion.

Aussies facing credit blacklist could rise 'exponentially'

Notify me of new replies via email
Australian Broker | 12 Mar 2014, 08:15 AM Agree 0
The number of Aussie borrowers blacklisted by credit reporting bodies will increase exponentially after Friday, says a national finance company.
  • Aarong | 12 Mar 2014, 09:37 AM Agree 0
    Aren't we all glad we've copied the systems from failing economies when we had one of he best ones in the world? Than you very much Labour for once again instituting a policy that is going to damage the Australian public. Just like the NCCP, what problem is this solving? This is a cure when there was no disease. Now we get to see this dragged throughout he courts as previous privacy policies didn't mention the back dating of information. This obviously reeks of a retroactive law and although I'm not a lawyer, I'm pretty sure just about any of them could make the argument that this is a punitive law (that allowed for this) without the benefit of warning. Telling the public last month that your credit records for the past 2 years will now retroactively be uploaded doesn't count as fair disclosure. I'm sure the insurance companies love this. So what? Since when do we tread on Australians civil liberties just to make insurance companies happy? Despite most of their ideas being bad for business to begin with, Labour showed a real ineptitude and juvenile approach to implementing their own regulation happy/anti-business bad policies. Thanks for nothing.
  • Mander | 12 Mar 2014, 10:12 AM Agree 0
    Australia has until now been one of the few advanced economies without a positive reporting regime. Personally I believe that borrowers with a good credit history will benefit and those with an adverse credit history will not - what could be fairer than that?