Australian Broker forum is the place for positive industry interaction and welcomes your professional and informed opinion.

Big bank posts record profit on mortgage growth

Notify me of new replies via email
Australian Broker | 31 Oct 2013, 08:00 AM Agree 0
One of Australia's major banks has swallowed up a heavy share of the mortgage market, growing its portfolio by $20.6 billion in the last year
  • Kiran | 31 Oct 2013, 10:01 AM Agree 0
    As a client and broker I can say that NAB ranks close to the bottom - check them out on facebook for some genuine customer feedback. Finance brokers who support the majors have forgotten that they only provide a service (NAB takes 3 business days to provide an existing client with a DDR form - while ANZ has announced it will take 5 business days to pick up a broker application, CBA on the other hand will provide in 1.5% discount off variable rate - what about existing clients who will bear this cost?). Mortgage Managers and Second tier lenders are offering brokers and clients amazing service, fuel discounts, fee for service products with no ongoing fees, offsets on fixed rate products .... the list is long ..
  • Country Broker | 31 Oct 2013, 10:19 AM Agree 0
    Being a broker in regional Australia , I am forced to use the big 4 at times due to security types and location. My preference is to stay away but I must say once the ANZ and CBA approve the deal which can be a slow and tedious process, they perform with documentation and settlement > I really prefer some of the non majors with white branded products , but they are restricted . Clients also at times when you use the comparisons tables and sites of our aggregator and show them that a non bank may be better will still ask for a Big 4 . We also need to remember the profits of the big 4 do make them some of the best and strongest banks in the world and that means we can have some comfort they will continue to lend.
  • Positive Broker | 31 Oct 2013, 10:51 AM Agree 0