Australian Broker forum is the place for positive industry interaction and welcomes your professional and informed opinion.

Broker licences at risk as dubious practices targeted

Notify me of new replies via email
Australian Broker | 09 Mar 2012, 07:00 AM Agree 0
Commercial brokers have been put on notice their credit licence will be at risk if they are complicit in continuing to direct clients to business lenders with suspect practices
  • SteveOz | 09 Mar 2012, 12:17 PM Agree 0
    Nice one ASIC.....This is one HUGE problem that causes a lot of heartache for SME.....Legit brokers as well. Good work
  • Peter Maver | 09 Mar 2012, 12:44 PM Agree 0
    Finally, I used to work in the Brisbane Gold Coast corridor and both these practises were rampant. I ended up doing my own due diligence on the funders sometimes doing more work on this than the clients application.
  • Positive Broker | 09 Mar 2012, 02:02 PM Agree 0
    I have had some experience with funders who are "fee fishing". No doubt some loans due to their complexity may justify a fee in the tens of thousands but the practice of charging these fees before the loan is anywhere near approved is disgraceful. The sooner these funders change their ways or are forced out of the industry the better.
  • Steve reid | 10 Mar 2012, 09:05 AM Agree 0
    Peter white should look at his own Fishing business
    this should have been fixed whne the NCCP came out private lenders are sharks
  • Wayne Armstrong | 10 Mar 2012, 09:08 AM Agree 0
    This is long over due
    Charging thousands for loans that dont even get approved or say the Valuation was $4000.00
    Go get them ASIC
  • VBLendahand | 10 Mar 2012, 12:45 PM Agree 0
    Fee Fishing is a scourge in the industry & I now avoid this commercial space as I cannot lie straight in bed & serve this crap up to a client. I welcome ASIC's review as long as they don't add to the problem!
  • 1martym1 | 12 Mar 2012, 10:26 AM Agree 0