Australian Broker forum is the place for positive industry interaction and welcomes your professional and informed opinion.

Brokers and valuations

Notify me of new replies via email
Australian Broker | 11 Sep 2013, 12:00 AM Agree 0
RP Data’s Craig Mackenzie says the advance of technology means valuations will be less frustrating for brokers and borrowers
  • Jennifer | 17 Aug 2015, 05:34 PM Agree 0
    Could you please tell me does a broker get charged for having a valuation done for a client A broker did one for us to evaluate our serviceability, we didn't go ahead any further. Should he have charged us $350 , he said he had to cover that cost I haven't paid him as yet. Many thanks. Jennifer
  • Michael Kent | 18 Aug 2015, 09:49 AM Agree 0
    DO NOT PAY HIM JENNIFER!! what a joke.

As a broker I can get free valuations done through 3 lenders I use due to the volume I put through.

As long as I don't abuse the privilege it is fine.

What you wrote is a little confusing. I am not sure why the broker would get a valuation done to establish your serviceability. That is based on your income and current debt and if you are married and have kids.

I order valuations for my clients almost everyday and at no cost UNLESS they proceed with the application, are fully approved and then the application fee (usually around $350) covers that valuation.

As stated above, I don't abuse it. If for example I ordered 45 valuations and put through 3 applications then yes the banks would be asking questions.

Most brokers you will find can get valuations done at no cost.

The bank I order them through still gets charged by the valuation company but they are willing to wear that cost if it means by getting the valuation done there is a good chance the loan can be written.

Do not pay this person. The fact they have billed you $350 for doing nothing is an embarrassment to our industry. I would even make a complaint to the FBAA and MFAA (find out which body they are a member of).