Australian Broker forum is the place for positive industry interaction and welcomes your professional and informed opinion.

Brokers failing to disclose conflicts of interest could derail commissions

Notify me of new replies via email
Australian Broker | 02 Jun 2014, 08:59 AM Agree 0
A major aggregator head has taken aim at bank-owned aggregators pushing their own products, saying the resulting conflict of interest could have serious ramifications for the industry
  • Bottom Line | 02 Jun 2014, 09:29 AM Agree 0
    And he wouldn't be just trying to undermine his competitors either....Maybe he should concentrate on lenders on his panel, that insist on volume requirements to maintain accreditation. If ASIC & APRA & others are happy with that, then they should have no problems with his issue, which is less of a conflict.
    New definition of a conflict of interest..."anytime something works in favour of the Broker".
  • Regional Broker | 02 Jun 2014, 09:38 AM Agree 0
    I am a broker with a bank owned aggregator and I can say I have NEVER had any pressure to pish a white label product or use one of the lenders that own.

For me ( other may have a different opinion) , the assertions in the article are not applicable to me.
  • SanityPrevails | 02 Jun 2014, 09:38 AM Agree 0
    Wow Mark, reduced aggregation fees....Are you seriously complaining? Connective was built on the premise of reduced aggregation fees, full stop! Someone comes out with a product, that's cheaper than yours and you cry foul. Don't get me wrong, fundamentally your agreement is sound, your just the wrong business to start the discussion!
  • Tony Broker | 02 Jun 2014, 10:00 AM Agree 0
    Mr H " you cant be serious "
  • Coast Broker | 02 Jun 2014, 10:29 AM Agree 0