Australian Broker forum is the place for positive industry interaction and welcomes your professional and informed opinion.

Brokers take aim at banks on submission criticism

Notify me of new replies via email
Australian Broker | 21 Jun 2012, 07:00 AM Agree 0
Brokers are none too happy at being blamed for application hold-ups, saying banks need to take their fair share of responsibility
  • Brisbane Broker | 21 Jun 2012, 10:39 AM Agree 0
    Why anyone want to deal with CBA. I'm a broker now for 7 years and never used CBA. There are so many other lenders that have better rate & products than CBA.
  • melo | 21 Jun 2012, 10:52 AM Agree 0
    Most Lenders ,more so CBA have complicated what should be very simple straight forward process.I believe 90% stopped applications could be avoided with straight forward checklist and process.I.E Anz process.Up front valuation,one pay slip always YTD Income,1 years tax returns for s/E + on floor LMI.Most of our application come back unconditional in 24 hours with anz.Rest pack look for reasons outside check list ,to stop,condition or decline loans, even on most straight forward of deals.Many conditions placed on loans havent been invented yet, as after 20 years still seeing them.Plus 1 phone call could avoid other 10% of stopped application>YES Just use KISS system.Further non Majors have to be easier ,otherwise they wont get sniff as they taken process to new level of unnecasserily pendatic to ridiculous.
  • Incognito | 21 Jun 2012, 11:16 AM Agree 0
    Bank's are staffed by people - sometimes young people. And loans can be tricky.

But banks !PLEASE! do something about variations & increases. These things are impossibly cumbersome.

I recently did a FULL DOC $108k increase to 80% LVR (clean credit, perfect repayment history) and it involved over 40 emails of correspondence.

It's absolutely tragic..
  • Martin | 21 Jun 2012, 11:20 AM Agree 0