Australian Broker forum is the place for positive industry interaction and welcomes your professional and informed opinion.

Clear as mud: Denovan wades through the employment verification quagmire

Notify me of new replies via email
Australian Broker | 18 Apr 2013, 08:00 AM Agree 0
Lending regulation expert, Jon Denovan, offers some rather unorthodox advice for brokers confused about employment verification requirements
  • NoTimeLikeTheFuture | 18 Apr 2013, 11:27 AM Agree 0
    Thankyou John.

Fantastically frank and practical advice there.

It sums up where i think most brokers are -

'it's clear but unclear and we suspect we're probably breaching something somewhere but we don't know where and we try our best not to'

In the end we have a drink and get on with it.
  • D'Arcy - Qld | 18 Apr 2013, 11:28 AM Agree 0
    Oh well - if I MUST !
  • Tony South Coast | 18 Apr 2013, 11:31 AM Agree 0
    I have been broking for 16 years and, John -- you are right, I definitely drink more now than I used to. Cheers everyone.
  • ozboy | 18 Apr 2013, 11:31 AM Agree 0
    Cheers.
  • Patrick Marion | 18 Apr 2013, 11:34 AM Agree 0
    There's nothing unclear about employment verification. As Donovan says, it's plain common sense... but then again common sense is not common.
  • BONED | 18 Apr 2013, 11:37 AM Agree 0
    Thank god someone stipulates the use of (un)common sense! We can't help everyone - it's no sin to say no, cop it on the chin and walk away, as I assume most good Home Loan Professionals do now anyway...
  • QEDRisk | 18 Apr 2013, 11:41 AM Agree 0
    John and I do not always see eye-to-eye but I think this is the most wonderful piece of advice I have seen from a lawyer in years.

Brokers - don't get yourselves bogged down in the specifics of what you think ASIC are telling you. Just sit back for a minute and let your common sense and professional judgement prevail!
  • Chris C | 18 Apr 2013, 11:44 AM Agree 0