Australian Broker forum is the place for positive industry interaction and welcomes your professional and informed opinion.

Conflicts could spear brokers in property advice

Notify me of new replies via email
Australian Broker | 26 Mar 2012, 07:00 AM Agree 0
Brokers providing property investment advice have been warned to beware of conflicts of interest and avoid merely focusing on "getting a deal across the line"
  • Andrew | 26 Mar 2012, 10:30 AM Agree 0
    The question about Real Estate Franchises that have in-house mortgage brokerages should also be addressed by ASIC? Surely there exists a conflict of interest?
  • Country Broker | 26 Mar 2012, 10:33 AM Agree 0
    Surley it is about time some one stood up and said , "there may be a conflict of interest here" !! As a broker I have always believed by having a relationship with one investment property adviser we could always be seen to have a conflict of interest - irrespective of what is said.
    I really do not want to be in this market , as I have very good relationships with some independant investment advisers whose job it is to determine what is in the best interests of their client as far an investment is concerned, I cannot do that as a FINANCE Broker it is my job to see the investor enters into an investment property LOAN that is NOT unsuitable for them , or suits their SMSF requirments requirments and legistation . Irrespective if my PI policy covers me I will not be entering into this part of the market any time soon .
  • ozboy | 26 Mar 2012, 10:59 AM Agree 0
    Agree with Andrew, anyone remember Henry Kay? Yet we still have not learnt our lesson. :-(
  • Rex | 26 Mar 2012, 11:06 AM Agree 0
    Isn't it about time all components were considered in the context of all others. The right loan can't be divorced from cashflow, investment, etc. Insurance can't be considered in isolation. Every single financial component has an impact on every other component.