Australian Broker forum is the place for positive industry interaction and welcomes your professional and informed opinion.

FBAA criticises educational 'impost'

Notify me of new replies via email
Australian Broker | 22 Jun 2011, 05:00 AM Agree 0
FBAA president Peter White has stated that industry associations should not require higher educational standards than those dictated by ASIC
  • Julie | 22 Jun 2011, 12:00 PM Agree 0
    About time someone made some sense.
  • John Black | 22 Jun 2011, 12:37 PM Agree 0
    There's nothing beats experience except experience plus a degree.
  • Peter | 22 Jun 2011, 01:17 PM Agree 0
    The Diploma that the MFAA requires for membership purposes as of 1/7/2012, consists of two parts. One, Commercial Loan knowledge and application and secondly, how to write business plans. I have 14 years experience in Broking, never wanted to nor will I ever do Commercial lending, so there is no point in me doing the Diploma. I've been writing business plans for years. I don't need another study program to show me to how! So onto the Fast Track option. Just do a couple of studies and submissions. One for the client and one as an application. Not an isse. But it doesn't get me the same membership level or title as someone with the Diploma. My title seems "lower" and thus discriminates against me when I probably could run rings around someone with a Diploma who has little experience. Maybe I should just quit the MFAA? Can't do that as various lenders insist I remain a member, other wise will not accept me as a loan writer! Wonderful!
  • Peter White - FBAA | 22 Jun 2011, 02:11 PM Agree 0
    Hi Peter, I am unaware of any lender that forces one Assocation over the other and if they are they shouldn't be - FBAA is not aware of any but if there is please let me know as I am happy to ask why. It's your right of choice !
  • Impressed with Peter White | 22 Jun 2011, 02:54 PM Agree 0