Australian Broker forum is the place for positive industry interaction and welcomes your professional and informed opinion.

Practising certificate unnecessary impost

Notify me of new replies via email
Australian Broker | 20 Mar 2012, 05:00 AM Agree 0
A mooted broker ‘Certified Practising Certificate’ is an unnecessary impost in the eyes of a major broking franchise
  • Country Broker | 20 Mar 2012, 09:49 AM Agree 0
    I have a cert IV, 2 diplomas and I am a director of a company that has a FULL Credit Licence, if that is good enough for ASIC why do Phil Naylor and Kathy Cummings think I also need a "Certified Practising Certificate" this is elitist nonsense , lets stop this in its tracks NOW.
  • Chris C | 20 Mar 2012, 09:53 AM Agree 0
    Don't we already have enough cost and compliance Phil. This is on your part a revenue raising exercise for MFAA to charge a fee for this or increase our annual membership fees and only in an effort to better substantiate MFAA's existence.
  • PeterT | 20 Mar 2012, 11:49 AM Agree 0
    Submission quality should be a high priority for any broker as it reduces the amount of work we do. Obviously broker and bank interests are aligned on this issue.

If the CBA thinks that broker submission quality is so low, why don't I ever hear about them running workshops to address this?

The only conclusion that I can come to is that they are running workshops, but I haven't been invited because there's nothing wrong with my submission quality.

Obviously other brokers are attending, and if they haven't cleaned up their quality, they're loosing their accreditation. If they're not attending then they'll also loose their accreditation. As an overall consiquence, the quality of the remaining broker submissions must be improving.