Australian Broker forum is the place for positive industry interaction and welcomes your professional and informed opinion.

Wholesale funder hits back at conflict of interest claims

Notify me of new replies via email
Julia Corderoy | 10 Apr 2015, 08:27 AM Agree 0
Bank ownership of aggregators or aggregator white label products does not create a conflict of interest for mortgage brokers, according to a leading wholesale funder
  • Regional Broker | 10 Apr 2015, 08:55 AM Agree 0
    I am a Plan broker and his comments are spot on, yes we use the white label product, but it IS NOT our major source of loans. We are not pushed or forced to use them and their commission structure is not set up to give me an incentive. It is a good product. I as a broker must compare products and recommend a product that is "NOT UNSUITABLE".

The comments by Suncorp at the inquiry simply show me there is no depth of understanding of what a brokers role is and their legal obligations are.
  • Steven Kyling | 10 Apr 2015, 08:56 AM Agree 0
    Then why are banks buying aggregators? Dominant businesses acquire things that will give them, or maintain a competitive advantage. It's a simple as that.

Look at who ended up owning all the major financial planning businesses in Australia over the past 15 years as an example.
  • Wozza | 10 Apr 2015, 10:01 AM Agree 0
    Why are banks buying aggregators? Maybe it is for profit as we have over 50% of the market. Brett's comments are still relevant.
  • David Tansek | 10 Apr 2015, 10:51 AM Agree 0
    I see the article and the comments, but as have mentioned before, there is even bigger conflict aggregators should worry about, and finance brokers in particular.
    Due to the rules - aggregator provide the above described functions for brokers, however there is one point that to me is totally in conflict with aggregator’s role and against ASIC rules.
    It is also very much against brokers role!
    So what is it?