FBAA unveils 2021 board members

MD welcomes additions, says he hopes to see more diversity on the board in the years ahead

FBAA unveils 2021 board members


By Mark Rosanes

The Finance Brokers Association of Australia (FBAA) has revealed its board members for 2021, along with new fellows and special awards.

Newcastle region mortgage broker Felicity Heffernan will become the newest member of the board, joining recent appointment Clive Kirkpatrick, and continuing members Angus Gilkeson, Angelo Lauro, and Steve Rasmussen. Chairman Tony Carter and company secretary Kim Szigeti were also reappointed to the advisory group.

Peter White AM, who will continue to serve the board as managing director, said the addition of Heffernan “continues the FBAA tradition of ensuring that our board always includes many members with a high level of practical broking knowledge.”

Heffernan has authored two property investing books and previously held leadership roles with the association, including as New South Wales councillor and state president.

White said it was good to see more diversity on the board and encouraged other female members to “look at taking an active role within the FBAA as we venture into the years ahead.”

He also extended his gratitude to outgoing director Rick Nieuwenhoven for his service and contributions both on the national board and as South Australia state president.

Nieuwenhoven has been appointed as one of the FBAA’s four new fellows, joining David Carson from Compliance One, Mike Israel from NCC, and Tanya Sale from Outsource.

“The newest fellow members have all made significant contributions to the association in the manner in which they have assisted and positively impacted our industry,” White said.

The FBAA also issued special commendations, recognising the efforts of several members “going above and beyond” to provide service amid the challenges brought by the COVID-19 pandemic. The awardees were past Victoria state president and councillor Brendon Kurtz, and staff members Phillipa Byrne, Mariah Pires, and Josie Taamaletoa.

“I would like to thank all of those on our board and within the FBAA team for their ongoing work for the association and our industry, and we look forward to a strong 2021 after what has been a tough start to the new decade in 2020,” White said.

Related Stories

Keep up with the latest news and events

Join our mailing list, it’s free!