MFAA elects three directors

by Madison Utley22 Nov 2019

Following a seven-week nomination and election process, MFAA members have elected new directors to join the existing team.

Announced at the MFAA Annual General Meeting (AGM) held in Sydney on 20 November, Caroline Jean-Baptiste and Will Foster were named new MFAA directors while Rose De Rossi was re-elected for a second term.

Based in Brisbane, Jean-Baptiste owns and manages Mortgage Choice Fortitude Valley and is chair of the Mortgage Choice Franchisee Advisory Council (FAC).

Foster has acted as director of Foster Finance in Sydney for 15 years and served on the Combined Industry Forum for the past two years.

De Rossi is a director of Diversifi in Perth.

Following the AGM, the new board of directors appointed Donna Beazley for another year as chairman of the board. The group has said Beazley’s re-appointment ensures “continuity in this key position as the MFAA prepares to enter another critical period in 2020.”

The new board has eight directors, including six actively practicing brokers, including Donna Beazley, Caroline Jean-Baptiste, Rose De Rossi, Sarah Wells, Kathryn Harrison, Will Foster, Vladimir Malcik and Mark Haron.

Beazley said the MFAA board possesses “a great depth of experience and expertise” and a “highly effective executive team”, with the organisation well placed to meet the challenges that lie ahead.

“The MFAA board also wishes to recognise retiring deputy chairman Melissa Gielnik, and to thank her for her service to the MFAA and the industry,” she added.

“Melissa has been on the Board since 2015, as Deputy Chair since 2017, and has dedicated a significant amount of her time to the MFAA in helping to steer the organisation through what has been a challenging period for our industry and for which we are most grateful.”

CEO Mike Felton said he looked forward to working with Beazley, De Rossi, and the board as the MFAA continues to represent the industry.