Non-major announces new appointments

Trio of additions will extend “depth and breadth” of experience on the board

Non-major announces new appointments


By Madison Utley

A non-major bank has announced a number of changes at management level.

ME Bank has welcomed Peter Everingham and David Issa to its board of directors, as well as naming Jim Evans as chairman.

“The new director appointments extend the depth and breadth of experience on our board, adding digital capability and industry expertise as we work to capitalise on our successes and further our mission to help all Australians get ahead,” said ME CEO, Jamie McPhee.

Evans has 30 years of experience in banking and financial services, with a specialisation in risk management. Previously, he spent more than a decade at CBA where five of those years passed as the chief risk officer of wealth management. Among several other past and present experiences, Evans also served as the chairman of Suncorp Portfolio Services Limited.

Everingham brings ME Bank 25 years of corporate experience, including 18 in the digital sector. He is involved in a wide array of other ventures currently, and formerly acted as director of strategy for Yahoo! in Australia and Southeast Asia.

Issa has over 30 years of experience in the digital, technology, banking and insurance industries. Previously, he held several roles at Westpac including CIO institutional banking group, program director Westpac investing, and CEO of the bank’s wholly owned software incubator, Qvalent.

ME’s previous chairman, Ken Hodgson, retired from the board on 1 April 2019.

McPhee thanked Hodgson “for his significant contribution to the bank.”

“Ken helped guide the bank through a period of considerable change, contributed substantially to our growth, and has been a great support to the other directors and my executive team,” the CEO concluded.

Related Stories

Keep up with the latest news and events

Join our mailing list, it’s free!