MFAA Victoria Tasmania Excellence Award winners announced

Brokers, lenders, BDMs among those honoured

MFAA Victoria Tasmania Excellence Award winners announced


By Ryan Johnson

The winners of the 2023 MFAA State Excellence Awards winners for Victoria and Tasmania were celebrated at the prestigious Grand Hyatt Melbourne last night.

One of five state award ceremonies, the 18 Victoria and Tasmania winners will also be finalists int the National MFAA Excellence Awards ceremony scheduled for Thursday, July 27.

MFAA CEO Anja Pannek said the awards recognised those members who had excelled in areas including customer service, professionalism, ethics, growth and innovation.

“Our members make a positive difference to the lives of so many Australians every day, and it’s wonderful to be able to take the time to celebrate and acknowledge the amazing outcomes they deliver,” said Pannek.

“I congratulate all finalists and winners on their great work and dedication over the past year, which is absolutely worthy of this recognition, particularly given the strong competition in this year’s awards.”

Among the winners were Tim Reynolds from Accession Finance (pictured above left) who won the Residential Finance Broker Award and Penny Finance’s Morgan Owen (pictured above centre) who was honoured with the Young Professional Award.

Trusted Financial Choice’s Varun Goyal (pictured above right) won the Newcomer Award while ubank claimed the Fintech Lender Award.

Last week the MFAA hosted the WA awards in Perth, while the NSW/ACT awards and the Queensland awards were held earlier this month.

The South Australia and Northern Territory awards will be held next Thursday, June 29 – the final  state award ceremony for the year.

The MFAA said the awards, audited by accounting firm Hall Chadwick, were judged on excellence and professionalism across all areas of the business.

The industry body also thanked the event’s sponsors, including Key Media’s Australian Broker and  MPA, ANZ, BOQ, Commonwealth Bank (CBA), Helia, La Trobe Financial, Macquarie Bank, ME Bank, Mortgage Choice, National Australia Bank (NAB), Prospa, QBE and Teachers Mutual Bank Limited.

The 2023 Victoria/Tasmania MFAA State Excellence Awards winners are as follows:

Business Development Manager Award – Aggregator: Tony Wood, AFG

Business Development Manager Award – Lender/Support Service Provider: John Paul Azzopardi, Bank of Melbourne

Commercial & Equipment Finance Broker Award: Cameron Perry, Perry Finance

Community Champion Award: FinancePath

Customer Service Award – Business: UFinancial

Customer Service Award – Individual: Reet Gill, Loan Market

Diversified Business Award: The Australian Lending & Investment Centre

Finance Broker Business Award: Cinch Loans

Fintech Lender Award: ubank

Loan Administrator Award: Kendall Wignell, Perry Finance

Major Lender Award: Macquarie Bank

Mutual/Credit Union Lender Award: Heritage Bank

Newcomer Award: Varun Goyal, Trusted Financial Choice

Non-Major Lender Award: ING

Regional Finance Broker Award: David Fraser, Bayland Finance

Residential Finance Broker Award: Tim Reynolds, Accession Finance

Specialty Lender Award: Liberty

Young Professional Award: Morgan Owen, Penny Finance

Related Stories

Keep up with the latest news and events

Join our mailing list, it’s free!